The effect of this religion on my children & the action I had to take - Part I

by jambon1 18 Replies latest jw experiences

• jambon1
    jambon1

I have been meaning to tell this story for some time now. I feel that I would like to share it so that it may serve as a warning to anyone who thinks that the JW religion does not have a negative effect on children.

I have been out of the religion for 4 years now. I wasn't brought up in the organisation. At the point I left only my wife & I and our 2 little children were active JW's. You can search my post history to see the varying degrees of bitterness that I have felt toward the JW religion. I left completely disillusioned with the whole thing. Badly treated & hurt by the actions of many witnesses. At the same time I had a few good friends who I still care for & love.

I left the organisation because I felt that what I was taught as a bible study ten years previously (I was 18 when my wife & I studied) was not what was practised in the religion. I felt a gross lack of love. I saw very angry & frustrated individuals in many congregations. I saw families that were a mess. But mainly, I was averse to believing & practicing some of the things that I was introduced to AFTER I became a baptised JW. I knew the day that I bacame a parent that I couldn't withold medical treatment from my kids if required to do so. I knew that I would rather cut my right arm off than SHUN my flesh & blood baby girl if she transgressed this religion as an adult. I hated having to look down on non witnesses & believe that their lifestyle sentenced them to death at the hands of a bloodthirsty god of 'love'.

As I progressed as a pioneer & ministerial servant, I saw a side of this religion that disturbed me greatly. My disbelief in god grew day by day. My disgust at what I was supposed to believe & teach my children who were very young just escalated. I became depressed & even suicidal.