On Looking For Work In This Economy

by Tired of the Hypocrisy 10 Replies latest jw friends

• Tired of the Hypocrisy
    Tired of the Hypocrisy

Wow, I have had my degree for just over a year now. I have been working closely with a career counselor for the past 6 months and have submitted lots of applications and resumes to dozens and dozens of companies for a long list of potential positions I would like to have. I worked hard as an almost 50 fading jw to get my college education and since I can no longer climb poles in windy-sub-zero-weather to fix people's cable I locked myself into Network Administration. I have had ONE interview in all this time. I drove a hundred miles to Bakersfield only to run into 62 other people also vying for two open positions.

Now it looks like I am finally going to be accepted. For a totally non-field related position with the IRS. NOw instead of working on the cutting edge of computer network technology I will be fielding complaint calls from angry people who wanna kill the first person they talk to about their tax bill. What did I ever do to deserve this???? LOL

Is the economy so bad that all a highly skilled and well trained person like me can get for work is part time scud work?

• jeeprube
    jeeprube

Man that sucks! I'm afraid it's only gonna get worse.

Can I ask.....

Where did you go to school? What kind of degree do you have? Do you think you're the victim of ageism?

• no more kool aid
    no more kool aid

I am so sorry to hear this and hope that eventually the right thing shows up. The same happened with my teenage son trying to just find a fast food or labor job, almost impossible. He finally found something, but it's alot of short days and ridiculous split shifts. I am supposedly in the best profession for right now, nursing. However, they run you like a dog, cutting staff, I wonder how long my body can take it. Have you tried looking out of state or is it pretty much the same everywhere?

• Borgia
    Borgia