What the New Testament was Really Saying

by forgetmenot 10 Replies latest jw friends

• forgetmenot
    forgetmenot

I have heard many people say how confused the bible (specifically the New Testament) makes them. It seems as if the writers jump to different subject that make no sense. For me it has been very helpful to read the scriptures with love being the purpose of everything they say.

It's an a lot like saying "Do you remember that toy you LOVED when you were little? Or how much you LOVE your children or wife?" Thinking about these thinks envokes a lot of love in a person. Maybe this is all Jesus really wanted, because love makes more than the earth go 'round it makes everything go 'round (after all God is love). The more love we show, the more power God has, and the more he can accomplish.

Just an idea. This is my first time post a NEW topic! So I'm a little nervous about feed back! But don't get me wrong...I want to know what everyone thinks, just be nice! :)

• refiners fire
    refiners fire

Well I for one certainly will not slur, mock or castigate your first thread post...I mean...after my own last post?..you gotta be kidding.
    Pretty good post yours is too, make us bastards think.
    Re the two testaments, Im inclined to think that the New is a superior expression of God than the first is. I dont believe either testament is the final expression of God to humanity, rather, that his love is revealed increasingly, as we see in the world today, with the unifying of all humanity into oneness, the condemnation of racist views, the world condemnation of terrorism.
    We are getting closer to Him day by day, as a species, a collective consciousness.

• Frenchy
    Frenchy

::: it has been very helpful to read the scriptures with love being the purpose of everything they say. :::