Economic Bandwagon

by Gladring 2 Replies latest jw friends

• Gladring
    Gladring

I've been thinking about all the talk of economic crisis in the media lately. My JW Elder dad is full of woe. How long do you think it will be before the WT comes out with an economic headline using the fear to convince people of the time of the end. I'm no financial expert so i have no idea how all this will pan out but if we are facing hard times and people are looking for hope maybe this will see some increase for the JWs.

I went rooting around on the cd'rom to see what they were saying in the 80's about the economy. I think we can look forward to seeing some of this stuff being recycled. Does anyone have access to WT quotes from other periods of economic hardship? It would be interesting to trace economic history by WT quotes.

g8112/22pp.26-27What’sWrongwiththeEconomy?***

Economies have been in trouble before and recovered. Why can’t the present economy revive without going through drastic change?

A

MajorDifference

The world’s economic problems are not the same as those of a generation ago. A major difference is the interdependence of nations and their economies. Economic policy or action in one industrialized nation affects the others. Even the poorest of developing nations is interwoven in the global economy, affecting rich nations. Prosperity of the rich countries depends on the well-being of the poor countries, who not only sell vital raw materials to the rich but also import billions of dollars’ worth of goods, creating much-needed jobs in the industrialized nations.

Developing nations want a new international economic order that would give them a better share in the world economy. It is a call the rich nations cannot ignore. As Canadian Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau noted, it is "an element of global security."