Before this thing closes....someone respond to and make sense of this

by iamthewolf5562 8 Replies latest jw friends

• TheSilence
    TheSilence

I'm not very good at debating doctrine, etc., but my feelings on the whole shunning thing is that it just proves to me it's a cult. You don't force someone's whole support system to be in this one small group and then take it away when a small rule is broken.

When the prodigal son came back his father welcomed him immediately with open arms and a feast. He didn't make his son sit in the back of the room for 6 months and refuse to talk to him until he was sure he had repented properly.

Jackie

• SnakesInTheTower
    SnakesInTheTower

silence...

good use of scriptures to prove the shunning doctrine wrong...lol

Snakes ()

• iamthewolf5562
    iamthewolf5562

yup. thanks. maybe you're not a master of doctrine, but you make sense:)

• sweetstuff
    sweetstuff
    its not being shunned tho.. i mean thats not how i look at it. " whom jehovah loves he disciplines"

I'd focus on this part of her thinking. If "Jehovah" *shiver shiver* can read hearts and we are encouraged to open our hearts to him in prayer, *shiver shiver* and its "he" who disciplines those he loves, why is there a need for you to sit in front of three imperfect men to be judged and punished/disciplined? Do you not trust that "Jehovah" the reader of hearts is more than qualified and capable to direct your path and handle yoru situation free from imperfect men? If not, then what hope is there that he is capable of bringing about Armageddon? Where in the bible does it say you need to sit in front of a committee of three men to be judged? Doesn't the bible say, judgement belongs to "God" alone?

Something along that line anyway.

• Tyrone van leyen
    Tyrone van leyen