One thing that puzzled me

by Vincent 6 Replies latest jw experiences

• Vincent
    Vincent

Hi All

This has puzzled me as reading about a critical ill father and blood transfusion refusal by a stupied wife that was a JW, when you become more serious in this cult it seems to play havoc on the emotions. When I used to be a bible student. I was giving off negative emotions (sadness, crying at certain things like seeing violence).

While I was in the cult I used to end up in tears for no reasons or go emotional.

Now I left them after Emma Gough's death even that set me off hearing it and seeing it. Now when you look at me after left them for few months now I am back to normal, I have tried to tell elderes that knocked on me that too.

Does the brain washing cause a lot of emotional sensitiviy as I had made an elder cry too by talking about looking after my girlfriend.

• IP_SEC
    IP_SEC

When your whole being hinges on one person or institution, this is not a healthy state of mind.

Does the brain washing cause a lot of emotional sensitiviy

So yes, in some people it causes this reaction. In others it causes the opposite.

• sacolton
    sacolton

Brain-washing strips a person from their individuality. They more-or-less become an empty shell of a human being that has put their brain on "auto pilot" to only listen and obey from the controlling person(s).

• Casper
    Casper

I think all the "Stress" we were under has alot to do with too...

Cas

• momzcrazy
    momzcrazy

I noticed that when I left too. I atributed it to having my whole life and belief system rocked. I had always been a JW, never knew any different. I was lost for a time and emotionally drained.

momz

• Vincent
    Vincent

Thanks for the replies, That will be beared in mind to warn off my friends about this cult if they think of joining.