JWs in the medical field (also a rant)

by Lady Zombie 10 Replies latest jw friends

• Lady Zombie
    Lady Zombie

Another thread got me thinking.

Are there any people here that work in the medical field and did so as a JW?

Up until July of last year, I worked in a hospital laboratory as a phlebotomist (person who draws blood) and lab tech. I drew countless tubes of blood from people for "type and crossmatch." This meant they were going to have a blood transfusion.

I often coordinated with local blood banks in placing orders for PRBC (packed red blood cells), platelets, plasma, etc.

Once out of curiousity I asked an elder if doing so was violating god's law. I was told that it didn't since that was my occupation and I was only doing my job. I don't have them in front of me, but there have been some WTs that have said the same thing. Of course it said it was a conscience matter but laid out some scenarios like mine.

~~Tangent--I'm not defending the JW blood stance, but coming from someone in the medical field, there are risks associated with blood transfusions. True there are risks with everything, but really it is much better if you know your donor!

If someone receives plasma (the clear, light yellowish component of blood), chances are it was collected at a plasma center. Because it is a lengthy process to collect plasma, plasma centers will usually pay donors. Since people are paid for donating plasma, it attracts donors from the homeless, drug using, and generally skeezy populations of the city. Yes, the collection centers test for blood bourne diseases, but some blood bourne diseases have a lengthy incubation period in the body (e.g. hepatatis, hiv, etc.) and in theory could go undetected and then passed on. This doesn't happen a lot, but it does happen. I know the JWs use stuff like this to scare people away from blood.