Are we all somehow impaired? Recovery?

by dinah 5 Replies latest jw friends

• dinah
    dinah

Bear with me, I'm "impaired".

Why is it some of us seem to move on with scars hidden, some fall apart, some fall apart and pick up their pieces and walk away somewhat whole.

What is it about our individual emotional/mental make-up that affects how we deal with this crap? Some self-destruct, some fight self-destruction, some don't give a shit.

You can take some kids and put them in a meeting about death and doom and they don't take it to heart, some do. My whole problem was hurting for all those peeps that Jehover was gonna kill.

They misrepresented my God, and for that I am angry.

• dinah
    dinah

Dag, I'm not a newbie

• Lady Lee
    Lady Lee

In dealing with any trauma how a person deals with it depends on the skills they have developed in life to deal with any problem.

People who have been through terrible abuse may have learned to stick their heads in the sand and pretend nothing terrible happened. Others find a way to survive the mess and they carry on.

Something I have noticed is that the younger a person is the more likely they just want to "get on with life". We often see them 10 to 15 years later when they are taking a look at their life and are wondering what happened. I've noticced that the late 20s to early 30s people begin to see a pattern of problems and failures.

Some will turn to substance abuse or serial relationships, anything to NOT deal with the real issues.

We have to admit there is a problem and identify it if we are to begin to deal with and the impact it has had in our lives.

This seems to be the case whether the trauma is a physical, emotional or spiritual trauma. Eventually it smacks us upside the head and demands to be dealt with

• buffalosrfree
    buffalosrfree