For the ladies:

by AllAlongTheWatchtower 11 Replies latest social family

• AllAlongTheWatchtower
    AllAlongTheWatchtower

Is it ok to lie, or lie by omission of information, to your wife, if the motive is saving them stress or grief?

I feel that my wife and I have a very good relationship, very open, we usually tell each other everything. As I revealed in someone else's topic recently though, I am a pizza delivery driver...and last night I escaped an attempted robbery. It wasn't that big a deal, I was not injured in any way. Because my wife just gave birth a few days ago, and the labor was very hard on her (4th degree episiotomy tear, for those who know what that is) and the baby, I decided not to tell her about this. I didn't want to stress her out. I can't help but feel a little guilty about it though...I could tell her at a later date, but she might get just as upset at that time, or more so, for me witholding the information in the first place...thus defeating the purpose of trying to spare her emotions.

I realize that the times when men used to say inane things like you see in old movies such as "don't you worry your pretty little head about it" are long gone, and rightfully so, but I kinda feel like in this case maybe silence is indeed golden. There's a law for 'justifiable homocide'...is there a relationship rule for justifiable lying?

• FlyingHighNow
    FlyingHighNow

Ask yourself what your motives would be for telling her. Would it be to make yourself feel better? Because you know it sure isn't going to make her feel better. Why tell her something that will only stress her out when she has a new baby? It shows more love to keep it from her than to tell her, in my opinion. Why would she need to know?

• journey-on
    journey-on