Any lawyers here - re 2nd Baptism question.

by AlphaOmega 8 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• AlphaOmega
    AlphaOmega

Just a thought...

Does the 2nd Baptism question, " Do you understand that your dedication and baptism identify you as one of Jehovah’s Witnesses in association with God’s spirit-directed organization?" enter the candidates into a legally binding contract?

This is a verbal declaration to abide by the "corporation rules" (disfellowshipping etc) said infront of witnesses (no pun intended).

Could it be that this is why this question was added? So that no-one has any legal comeback if their lives are changed by the society?

AO

• inbyathread
    inbyathread

While I am not a lawyer IMO that is the reason the question is posed in that manner.

It all comes down to semantics. The words are defined by, you guessed it, the WTS. If is is legally binding in their eyes then it is binding. The R & F are told that it is a personal dedication to God (legal) (let your yes mean yes). They are also told what to do if this personal decision is broken by failing to live up to that dedication or choosing to leave. These are issues that are kept within the guise of their religion and therefore cannot have any input from the secular courts. The separation of church and state (U.S. Law) allows this group from continuing their sham as they are prevented from interfering.

• Deputy Dog
    Deputy Dog

AO

I'm no lawyer, but, I would love to see a court define "God’s spirit-directed organization".

• AlphaOmega
    AlphaOmega

I was wondering whether anyone has ever true to take the WTBTS to court over defaming their name (ie after a disfellowshipping), or other restrictions due to WT dogma?

By answering "yes" to this question, I would imagine that they have waived their right to complain.

Defining "God's Spirit Directed Organisation" - hadn't thought of that. Maybe the WTBTS have it listed as a registered company ?? Paranoia abound now

• diamondblue1974