No longer a "Robotic Parrot"

by Trotafox 10 Replies latest jw experiences

• Trotafox
    Trotafox

Hello, everyone:
    I'm new here. Here's my story. Lord, where do I start? First of all, to set the scene, I'm female, single and 50'ish. I've been asking questions about God since I was 12 yrs old and it's been that way all my life. I was ripe for the JW's. My best friend (of 26 years) was a JW and I started studying with her. Sounded good (it always does) so I joined the ranks of the "robotic parrots". Shortly after I was baptized (little over 10 yrs ago), my best friend's husband lost his job and they moved to another state. I struggled and struggled to do my best but my best never seemed good enough for the elders. The pressure to attend all the meetings, do door-to-door service and study was unbelievable! I wanted to scream "Which part of this don't you understand?" In hind sight, now I realize that I was struggling to keep them from controlling every minute of my life. Without realizing it, I was really trying to keep control of my mind! I've always had a very sensitive conscience and they really worked it. After a while, I started to have doubts. In January, I started to miss meetings. Well the brothers were all over me like a duck on a june bug. The pressure and conditional love from the elders and the congregation did not fit the understanding that I had of true Christian love. Somewhere along the line the "friends(?)" forgot how to be friends.