Learning Guitar - What is a good beginner guitar - (sell me yours?)

by confusedjw 32 Replies latest social physical

• confusedjw
    confusedjw

I've been learning to play for the last 3 weeks and would like to buy myself an acoustical guitar. I've borrowed two, one is a wonderful Yamaha and the other is a Fender made in China, plywood and it sounds not so good.

Those of you who have gone through this - what would you recommend to me if I were your favorite poster?

ps - I've written my own song to play on xmas day for the family - done in true Adam Sandler style.

• MadTiger
    MadTiger

Get a used Gibson or Martin guitar.

They have been around for years.

There are many guitar makes out there, but, as you have already experienced, there is a wide range in playability.

• Dismembered
    Dismembered

If you cannot afford a Gibson or Martin (great choices but can be $$$) then buy a Yamaha, they're a great 1st guitar.

Dismembered

• La Capra
    La Capra

I studied music in college and learned many instruments to get my degree. One thing that I discovered the hard way (through injury) is that of all musicians, beginners need good instruments with good action, playability and tone. Otherwise, musicians learn on a poor instrument and pick up bad habits, positions and techniques to compensate for a poor instrument. Beginners get more satisfying results and are more likely to stick with it when they start with a good instrument.

Whatever you learn to play, get a good instrument. Buy a used one from a local music store that is run by musicians that play themselves. If you change your mind, you can always sell it back and consider the "loss" as your rental cost on the instrument.

Shoshana (who had to give up playing her instrument because years playing on an inferior model caused permanent neck injuries.)

• garybuss
    garybuss