Do you remember giving talks?

by klydia 39 Replies latest jw friends

• klydia
    klydia

Hi everyone, I'm trying to remember the process for giving a talk. I remember getting a slip with a topic on it, but what else was on that slip? Did it tell you what scriptures you should cite, or what book the talk was based on? I'm also trying to recall what marks you could get for your talk. I think it was either "good" or "needs improvement" but people very rarely got anything other than "good"! It's amazing how much I've forgotten! :)

• Finally-Free
    Finally-Free

I think I cancelled more talks than I gave.

W

• hambeak
    hambeak

Yes I remember and during the hour talks I gave I had a summary with scriptures and I studied for a day or two before I gave it. I just ad libbed I tried to get the cong to get involved but they all looked like stepford folks. IT IS ALL CRAP AND THE SAME OLD THING!!!!!!!!!

• restrangled
    restrangled

Yes, I remember the dreaded talks as a publisher. For women it was a 5 minute presentation with a "householder"

I remember given a theme, scriptures to cover and then you came up with the rest of it. It was a nerve wracking scenerio as you never knew if you could count on your assigned householder, and most times you couldn't locate them to practice before the meeting or you practiced over the phone. There was a stupid line up of things you were graded on after you gave the talk. Some of the items graded were timing and gestures...oh god this is making me sick.

Then as a sister you had to worry about skirt length, arms exposed, chest exposed, being to flashy etc. too high of heel, too dowdy, butt hanging off the chair etc., etc., etc.

What a friggen nightmare!

r.

• Amazing
    Amazing

Yes, I remember all too well. I wish I could forget.

Jim W.

• Gregor
    Gregor