Planting seeds of doubt or helping someone break mind control

by thecarpenter 4 Replies latest jw friends

• thecarpenter
    thecarpenter

helping someone break mind control

How can you effectively help a witness break the watchtowers grip on their minds?

As a layman, I would think that encouraging someone to examine the history of their beliefs would be one way but many people don't like to do research. (Note: this method probably worked for many on this forum) I noticed that with many women (I'm only generalizing here on a observation so please don't stone me), they seem to notice the lack of love first. I guess highlighting that fact can probably lead them to examine the religion more.

What methods would you use to help someone out or at least motivate them to scrutinize the society more? and when would you back off?

• Quandry
    Quandry

Yes, Carpenter, you are very astute. Women do respond to the lack of love thing. Also, I think the hard line on shunning is going to take its toll on women. You really can't make some women shun their children so easily.

I do, however, think the impact of the dates and flip flopping doctrine is hard for women to take. Talk about insecurity. One day you must believe this, then the next......

• poodlehead
    poodlehead

I know with myself it took a long time before I would listen to anything negative about the organization. I was completetly brainwashed into believing that if I did, I was comitting the ultamate sin against Jehovah. So I was inactive for 8 years before I came to this site. And I still was looking over my shoulder, expecting to get zaped by God. What I found here has saved my life.