Convention Delegates (I use that term loosely)

by mjarka911 8 Replies latest jw friends

• mjarka911
    mjarka911

I'm a Union Firefighter and just went to my first state association union convention as a delegate and it gave me pause about how we were all called delegates at assemblies.

As a delegate to the firefighter convention, I was able to debate resolutions on the floor and in committee as to the diretion of the organization. Then, most importantly, I was able to vote my choice. As a true delegate - I have a say and a meaningful voice.

I contrast this with the meaningless designation of "delegate" at an assembly. Imagine if a resolution was read and, instead of clapping like a seal, you stood and disagreed with the resolution and offered an ammendment to change the direction of the organization (i.e. child abuse, blood doctrine, shunning). We all know a judicial committee would be convened before the day was out and you would be pressed with questions like: Do you believe God is using the FDS to direct the organization? Any answer other than yes and you would risk not being in "good standing".

I know I'm rambling, but it just struck me today that they try to use these democratic constructs like "delegates" and "resolutions" but they are false and empty words!

Matt

• daniel-p
    daniel-p

I noticed this too, when I was at the convention. It makes it sound so serious and important, how pathetic.

• sass_my_frass
    sass_my_frass

I remember a convention at which there were nine resolutions that got us all fired up and emotional, standing and passionately confirming our commitment with a big loud 'Yes!'

Something similar happened at the DC last year, and I'd taken Mr F to expose him to what happens there. It was so embarassing we had to leave.

• mjarka911
    mjarka911