Justification versus Sanctification

by TheListener 12 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• TheListener
    TheListener

I am just beginning to understand that there is a difference between being justified and being sanctified.

Has anyone found a good write up that discusses this?

Honestly, as a jw and now as a faded jw I never realized that justification and sanctification could be different things, and I have no idea if this is something that all christians agree on or if there are different ideas out there.

Please share your thoughts and any publications you've found useful in learning about this.

• Sad emo
    Sad emo

Tom Wright is very good to read. This is a long article but readable, he's a sort of 'laymans theologian'

http://www.ntwrightpage.com/Wright_Justification_Biblical_Basis.pdf

• LittleToe
    LittleToe

There are other terms that you may find useful to tackle as well, such as regeneration, redemption, and adoption. It all helps you to build a well founded soteriology, if you desire to use the Christian framework of reference.

• M.J.
    M.J.

Here is sanctification, in a nutshell, as taught at the church I go to (which probably doesn't tell you much more than you already know):

There are three senses in which we are sanctified. The moment we put our faith in Jesus Christ as Savior, we are positionally sanctified or set apart unto God. Then we must be progressively sanctified by growing in holiness. This process will not be complete as long as we’re in this body, but we must actively work at it (Gal. 5:16; Rom. 8:13). When we meet the Lord we will be perfectly sanctified, made completely like Him (1 John 3:2).

• greendawn
    greendawn

So justification is the first stage in a Christian's life and as he matures he eventually reaches the stage of sanctification if I understand correctly. It's all according to the early chapters of Revelation where Jesus says if you conquer and win and do so and so I will reward you in a such way.

• Narkissos