God no god? Scholarly pseudo schorlarly?

by D wiltshire 12 Replies latest jw friends

• D wiltshire
    D wiltshire

First off I beleive in God's existance.
    That being said, let me proceed.

There is much so-called scholarly debate on both sides, but lately on this forum it has been brought out what scholarly and pseudo-scholarly is.

Scholarly: Compiles facts then makes deduction based on all facts as best as unbiasedly possible.

Pseudo-scholarly: Makes deduction then compiles selected facts that support deduction, giving little validity to the contrary.

So my point is if these definitions are true then the only one that can provide scholarly work on the existance of God is an Agnostic since those from the other 2 camps fall in the Pseudo-scholarly collectors of facts.

I admit that my beleif is from selected facts and a discounting of others that I feel quite probably are wrong, but not from facts always but because I'm not a Scientist and don't keep up with all the data availible, it would be so so tireing for me. To me in my mind it works.

So then can either camp(the beleiver, or nonbeleiver) prove that they are unbiased and that they collect facts and look at them dispassionatly?

I'll defend your right to say it, but it doesn't mean I beleive it.

• D wiltshire
    D wiltshire

Brining it up

• AlanF
    AlanF

D Wiltshire said:

: So my point is if these definitions are true then the only one that can provide scholarly work on the existance of God is an Agnostic since those from the other 2 camps fall in the Pseudo-scholarly collectors of facts.

That conclusion does not follow from the stated premises. The notions of "scholarly" and "pseudo-scholarly" apply both to people and to works. An extremely biased person demonstrably can produce a relatively unbiased, scholarly work. Someone who is generally objective can produce a horribly biased, pseudo-scholarly work. One who regularly produces one type of work or the other attaches the label to himself.