Can someone explain Mosaic Law please??

by Super_Becka 20 Replies latest watchtower bible

• Super_Becka
    Super_Becka

OK, so maybe I should've asked this a long time ago, but I'm a little slow sometimes. My apologies for being uneducated in this particular area. Hey, I'm still learning, that's why I'm here.

I've seen a lot of references to Mosaic Law here on the board, but I'm a little unclear as to what it is, what it says, what it means, and who it applies to. Hey, I'm just a history student, I'm not a Bible scholar by any stretch of the imagination.

So if you don't mind, I'd appreciate a little bit of explanation here, a nice bulleted list or something. And references to other threads that explain this would be much appreciated, too.

Can anyone out there help me out??

Thanks!!

-Becka :) (of the "Biblically-challenged" class)

• IP_SEC
    IP_SEC

The law is encompassed in the books exodus through deut.

Many laws having to do with cerimonial cleaness, daily life, atonement.

Who could and couldnt have sex

What to do with excrement.

What animals were and werent eatable

How to make sacrifces.

The sabbath

The law was fullfilled by jesus and no longer in effect for xians.

Witnesses give undue attention to the law. They say they do not follow it to the letter but follow the spirit of the law.

In reality they are not xians but Pharisaic Jews with some hint of christ belief. They give the law more importance than the words of jesus or his apostles.

• Legolas
    Legolas

The laws (beginning with the Ten Commandments) that God gave to the Israelites through Moses; it includes many rules of religious observance given in the first five books of the Old Testament (in Judaism these books are called the Torah)

• FairMind
    FairMind

It is the entire list of "Do's and Don'ts" God gave to the Israelites as recorded in the Old Testament.

• Brigid
    Brigid