Do JWs still call themselves "Bible students?"

by kristyann 19 Replies latest jw friends

• kristyann
    kristyann

Does anyone know if Jehovah's Witnesses still refer to themselves as "Bible students?" I experienced a strange situation sometime last week or the week before and I was wondering if anyone could tell me if they think it involved a JW or not. I have never heard of JWs making random phone calls to witness to people, but I guess maybe they do. Anyway, a week or so ago, my family got a phone call from some random girl we don't know, but no one was home, so she left a message on the answering machine. It was difficult to understand and sounded kind of fuzzy and static-y, but basically it was something like this. "Hello, my name is Allison and I am a Bible student. I was hoping to talk with you about the Bible. If you are interested, I would love to send you a free copy of the book "Life blah blah blah" [I couldn't understand the title of the book, but it began with the word 'life.' I played it over and over again, and still couldn't understand it. Anyway, then she said] "Please write to P.O. Box [something, again, I couldn't understand the P.O. Box number that she left] and I would be glad to write back and send you a copy. Thank you and have a great day!" Does anyone have any idea if this was a JW or not? I realize that I have limited information because I couldn't understand the title of the book. Did the Watchtower come out with a new book or booklet with "Life" as the first word in the title? Also, I wish I had the P.O. Box address cause I'd write to it, but I couldn't understand her. Why wouldn't she give a phone number to call her back, though? Is she afraid of being harassed? I don't get it. Or why wouldn't she give the address to the Kingdom Hall? Why would she give her P.O. Box? Is this something she does just as her own personal thing? Cause I would think if it had something to do with the JWs, she'd give a phone number or address of the Kingdom