My Bible Study

by Scorpion 8 Replies latest jw friends

• Scorpion
    Scorpion

I have two Bible studies at present. One of these is an XMormon. He has been out of the LDS for over a year now. I have been studying with him for four months now. He refused to study out of any of the WT pubications. He said he would study only on the conditions that we use the Bible alone without any aids. To tell you the truth, it has been the best Bible study I have had in my 7 years as a Witness. I usually develope a topic and we study about it. Many times he wants to talk about things he has had problems understanding. These studies take up to two hours at times. I have noticed that when I do take another from my congregation to these studies, they always have a great time.

Tonight we talked a bit about what the Mormon church taught. I was surprised to learn that the LDS church looked at his tax returns each year so as to make sure he was paying the 10% tithe the church requires. We were on the subject of Michael the Archangel and he said that Brigham Young the second prophet of the LDS church taught that Adam was God. Young taught that Adam was Michael the Archangel, the Ancient of Days. He said this could be found in Journal of Discourses, volume 1, pp 50-51. JD is a 26 volume set

• Scorpion
    Scorpion

OOPPPS! Don't know how I did that.

Any way, JD is 26 volumes of books that have collections of talks by early LDS church leaders and what they taught and talked about at conventions and so forth. My study said that this doctrine was reversed by a recent president Spencer Kimball and labeled the Adam-God doctrine as false teaching.

The more I talk with him, the more I can see that the Mormon church (LDS) is a study of continuing, conflicting, contradicting revelation.