Candace Conti - Preparing For The Appeal

by Joe Grundy 33 Replies latest watchtower child-abuse

• Joe Grundy
    Joe Grundy

No doubt, WTBTS NY will appeal this to the best of their ability, and they have almost unlimited financial resources behind them.

I wish I was in a position to fund Candace through the appeal, but I'm not, nor I am cognisant with California law or the general fedaral law in US.

But I was a police officer in the UK for 30 years, 10 of that as a commander of a Fraud Squad, member of the National Working Group on Fraud, Europol, etc. I did spend some time in the US working with FBI on a joint case.

My point is this. I've read through some of the court papers including depositions and the one that stuck in my mind was the dep taken from the witness who worked in Bethel and was asked about 'collated data' re child abusers. (It's been referenced here, but I can't link to it).

I understand that the dep was taken by Candace's lawyer, or someone on the team, but it failed to produce the evidence properly because it didn't ask the questions in enough depth (common failing).

For example:

Is there a procedure whereby congregations report disciplinary committees to WTBTS?

Are those reports filed?

How are they filed?

Is the subject matter of the discipline noted?

etc., etc.

It would not be hard to get to the point that reports of child abuse COULD be identified.

The point of this post is that even though WTBTS have the financial resources (they think) a goood investigator going through their published papers and their personnel could blow the whole thing apart.

And here is a genuine offer (I don't make less than genuine ones): I'd be happy to travel to CA and assist Candace's team (my expense) if it would help.

• james_woods
    james_woods

Very nice gesture, Joe.

What I am hoping is that some civic-liberties law entity (ACLU?) can assist her to sustain the case when it goes to appeal.