Free Will in Paradise Earth

by FaithfulBrother 7 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• FaithfulBrother
    FaithfulBrother

I was raised in a Witness family but never got baptized. I have been studying with an extended family member for a while after 20+ years of being away from the Kingdom Hall. I asked them about the paradise earth after Armageddon and if we will become robots if we survive. In other words, will we be able to think for ourselves as long as we dont question anything God tells us to do. This family member told me that we we still have complete free will, and that anyone who questions God after Armageddon while in Paradise Earth will immediately be destroyed.

So I said, "But I thought that the Bible says, 'Death will be no more,'" and she told me that this scripture is only referring to the First Death. But the Second Death will remain and basically, for eternity, there will still be people living in Paradise Earth that still have complete free will, and if they choose to rebel, they will immediately be subjected to the Second Death.

Anyone else heard of this? Or were you told that after we make it to Paradise Earth we will suddenly no longer have free will and will only think thoughts that Jehovah allows us to think?

• InterestedOne
    InterestedOne

I asked a similar question when I did a JW study. Mine was, "what happens if someone disobeys Jehovah in the Paradise Earth?" The other JW, not the conductor, said "they get zapped!" The conductor didn't correct him, so I assume he agreed.