Survey - How many in Medical Field??

by lydia 8 Replies latest jw friends

• lydia
    lydia

Just curiosity here..

How many of us here are in the Medical field? I seem to find alot of us are or were at some point. So I thought a survey would be in order.

Also, If you are in a medical field - Why did you choose it??

I was a Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant, and also an Ememrgency Medical Technitian...Because I wanted to help others get better from accidents and injuries with crafts - A favorite thing with me - and then I got interested in the Emergency part of the helping too...

What about you??

Lyd

• larc
    larc

Lydia,

You mentioned why you went into the medical field - you wanted to help others. You might want to change the title of your thread to, How many went into a helping profession?

I am a retired college professor, who taught psychology, so I would consider myself as part of the helping professions, though not in the medical field.

• individuals wife
    individuals wife

individuals wife puts up hand - me! me!

Currently I am a nursing auxiliary in my local hospital and loving every minute of it. Moving on in September to start university to become a 'real' nurse - can't wait. I could never of dreamt of doing this when I was a JW, all that about 'putting the Kingdom first' always meant that what I REALLY wanted to do - nurse - was put on the back burner. I always felt that medical professions were discouraged in the JWs because of the unsocial hours, having to miss meetings etc, and because of the blood issue. I can only think of one JW who was involved in a caring professions and sometimes used to miss meetings due to night shifts, she was thought of as spiritually weak because of this.

My point of view now is - it is better to try and help people in this world NOW by giving them care, attention and treatment rather than sit around talking about when God will put things right. I believe that actions speak louder than words.

• Lindy