Life Cycle of a JW

by Wren 7 Replies latest jw experiences

• Wren
    Wren

Hello! This is an introduction. My JW life, I admit now, is typical. In ways it’s typical for: JW demographics, life passages, time in a high control group. I’m not much of a writer but here goes…

My first memory was at a large stadium, summer assembly, in 1961, in California. I was five. My family associated with JW’s consisted of one unbaptized parent that attends here and there and a baptized crazy aunt. I started studying regularly with a pioneer couple. Within months, at age 10, regular attendance at meetings & field service, followed. This continued where ever we moved (I’ve lived from one end of the west coast to the other). My family life was not especially stable. I lived with either parent or different relatives. Stability came from having “the truth”.

The apex was the approaching mid 70’s. In my late teens/early twenties I entered my idealistic stage. Baptism was at 16, then pioneering after completion of high school. I desperately needed all the answers in a neat package. My zeal was enhanced with the 1975 peak of fervor and “ingathering”. In the late seventies, foregoing an education, I married a JW and had several children in close succession. I continued to try to keep up with all the requirements. At this point it began to dawn on me that I might have dug myself a hole and I’d better start looking for a rope to either hang myself or pull myself out.