I'm making out a will and naturally I upset my family

by Lady Zombie 4 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Lady Zombie
    Lady Zombie

Is it time for the JWs to renew their blood cards or something?!

The reason I ask is because my mother mentioned that I need to get my advance directives in order and be sure to keep the no blood card on me at all times, blah blah blah, and do I need any help in getting it all organized.

I mentioned to her that I don't need any help, I worked in the healthcare field for a long time. I told her that my advance directive specifies no life support for a hopeless prognosis, etc.

Then I mentioned to her that I'm in the process of making out a legal will. No, I'm not that old (38) but since I am past 35, it isn't a bad idea either.

She wanted to know what was in it, so I filled her in. The conversation ended with her in tears (again) and playing her martyr's game.

I basically told her that:

1) I want to be cremated. This wasn't a problem for her. Until I got to number two....

2) My dearest and best friend (who is "worldly") will take possession of my ashes and will spread them. She wanted to know why I'm specifing that in my will. I told her "so you and dad won't just throw them in the garbage." See, when my father's father died (also a JW), he was cremated. None of my father's family claimed the ashes. They told the funeral home to just dispose of them. Keep in mind that 95% of my family are JWs. When I inquired as to why they did this, I got JW-isms in response.

Well apparently this shocked her and she got really quiet. I told her there's more, like...

3) No funeral. Meaning, no service, no eulogy. I even intend to specify my newspaper obit as just the facts, i.e. birthdate, deathdate, survivors. Period. Nothing more.