Crisis of Conscience

by Freeatlast2024 15 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Freeatlast2024
    Freeatlast2024

This is my first time posting to this forum. Let me start by saying I was born and raised as a Jehovah’s Witness. I’m thankful that I was raised this way, because I feel it protected me in some ways, especially with regard to moral issues. However, with all the recent changes starting late last year (2023), I started really questioning whether the GB was just making shit up. What really threw me over the edge was when the disfellowshipping changes came just two weeks after losing the Norway trial. Meanwhile, there are witnesses imprisoned right now throughout the entire globe for trying to follow the rules, but the GB can just change policy to win an appeal so they can hopefully one day get more money from the Norway government. I haven’t been back to the meetings since, but I was constantly questioning my decision to leave the organization, feeling that I didn’t have the right to question the GB. Also, well-meaning friends have been texting me warning me that I will die at Armageddon.

Then I came across this book online, called Crisis of Conscience, which I already knew about, but I found it free for all to read. I wanted to share the link for anyone feeling guilty about questioning their beliefs:

https://friendsofraymondfranz.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/CC2004-Eng.pdf

As most of you already know, it was written by Raymond Franz, a former member of the GB, who eventuality resigned from the GB and left the organization because of what he saw as a GB member.

A lot of good people are leaving the so-called “truth”, because they know it is a lie. John 4:24 says that God wants us to worship him “in truth.”

I just want you to know you are not a bad person for questioning everything. In fact, you are in good company with a lot of people who love God and want to do what’s right.

• Gorb
    Gorb