Very confused, please help!

by confused boy 6 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• confused boy
    confused boy

Hi,
    I am not a Witness, however my life has been greatly affected by the religion. My mother was disfellowshipped before i was born, and therefore has no contact with any family members. I on the other hand have occaisional contact to my other witness family members and i love all dearly. The problem i have is that i can see the pain my mother has been put through and i can't understand why disfellowshipping has to be like this. It is too late for my family but i wonder about the future.
    The point is i am a student in my early thirties living in the UK and i am making a short documentary about my journey finding out about the why disfellowshipping happens. I would love to hear from anybody if they would be kind enough to talk to me about this issue that affects me greatly and has me torn between my family that i love so much, i don't want to get the wrong idea, so instead of asking my mothr i also want to talk to a Witness and have their side of things, as it is only fair.

Please help me

yours faithfully

Confused Boy

• OldSoul
    OldSoul

You have come to the right place. There is tons of information here on the subject.

Disfellowshipping is taught as an act of love. It is supposed to be a means of correcting someone who has sinned "grossly" after being taught God's moral code.

However, in practice it is used to do more than correct. It is also used to punish an offender and frighten the flock into conformity. The circumstances under which one can be disfellowshipped now encompass far more than the Scriptures allow for, and the congregation (families, etc.) rarely even know what the person was disfellowshipped for. Especially would that be the case when the family member lives in another congregations territory (as is often the case).