Dom Monaco Boxing Story

by ezekiel3 1 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• ezekiel3
    ezekiel3

Released in a boxing newletter The Sweet Science. Somehow this fellow tries to give a "witness" while glorifying his boxing career:

Source: http://www.thesweetscience.com/boxing-article/2395/dom-monaco-bristled-energy/

“It was the greatest, the absolute greatest feeling in the world,” said Monaco, now 54, in his thickly accented but articulate English. “I knew that boxing was what I wanted to do for a living. There was nothing I wanted to do more.”

Dom Monaco Bristled with Energy

by Robert Mladinich

When 17-year-old Domenico Monaco arrived in New York from his native Italy in 1969, he was filled with the wide-eyed wonderment of youth—but not much else. Unsure what he or his family would do in their new homeland, Monaco is the first to admit that he was terribly frightened.

An uncle who had lived here for several years soon introduced his athletically inclined nephew to boxing at the West Side YMCA in Manhattan. Training alongside future middleweight champion Vito Antuofermo, another recently arrived Italian émigré, Monaco took to boxing like a fish takes to water.

Although he had never laced on a glove prior to his arrival in New York, Monaco, who lived in South Brooklyn, won the 1971 Golden Gloves sub-novice lightweight title. He had been training for just over a year.

“It was the greatest, the absolute greatest feeling in the world,” said Monaco, now 54, in his thickly accented but articulate English. “I knew that boxing was what I wanted to do for a living. There was nothing I wanted to do more.”

The following year Monaco began what would become a legendary Golden Gloves rivalry with “Irish” Johnny Turner, another rough and ready brawler from a different section of Brooklyn.