Do you get emotional at work

by squinks 6 Replies latest social family

• squinks
    squinks

Do you let your feelings show at work. When I was a kid my Dad said I wore my heart on my sleeve, and I do. This always caused my Dad distress "you just can't do that" he would say. Well it happens and I don't want to seem unprofessional in the workplace. What to do, is it OK?

• Low-Key Lysmith
    Low-Key Lysmith

I'm a Bar manager/bartender in a busy downtown rock n roll club. On the weekends in my joint, it turns into a HUGE frat party. These people are the most clueless, self centered, ill mannered people I have ever come into contact with in my life. I freak out all the time on these people. One of the perks of my job is being able to tell people to get f***ed, and throw them out using their heads to open the door. So yeah, I guess you could say I lose my cool all the time, but it's justified.

• Doubtfully Yours
    Doubtfully Yours

Hi there y'all!

When I'm at work, I enjoy my job and the people so much that is all "happy, happy, joy, joy".

In case of sadness due to personal matters or other stuff, I don't let it show. I've heard it's just not a good idea to be overly emotional at the workplace.

DY

• Crumpet
    Crumpet

I am rubbish at hiding my feelings and so I don't bother even trying. Everyone knows when I am in a bad mood (ie today)- but equally they know when I'm in a good mood.

I don't like to cry at work, but occasionally I can't help it, which is horribly embarrassing. I managed not to today. Instead I got it out by slamming a few doors and having sarcastic conversations in my head - that kind of mental role play really helps (although some may define it as some sort of psycho disorder) and makes me laugh at myself a bit.

• Bryan
    Bryan

Yes. My feelings are my work. Unfortunately.

Bryan

Have You Seen My Mother

• HEAVENS DESTINY
    HEAVENS DESTINY