need some advice

by boy@crossroads 5 Replies latest jw friends

• boy@crossroads
    boy@crossroads

I've been doing the fade for about 5 months now and doing my best to stay away from all witnesses. I'm currently living with my brother who is still an active witness. I've been doing my best these last couple of months to establish friends away from the twoof. Well, yesterday my brother had a witness he met at the last assembly come by and play guitar with us. Come to find out I really liked the guy and wouldn't mind playing in a band with him. I don't think the guy has a regular witness mind set. Come to find out most of his family is not in the truth, when he came yesterday he brought with him a photo album of his relatives and seemed pretty proud of them despite many of his relatives in the pictures having tattoos and smoking. He seems the type of guy who really looks at the inward person. I think his family might have been raised around the truth. But I don't know this guy perplexes me. He was dissfellowshiped a while back, he said. And I guess upon reinstatement he's doing his best to be approvable to the witnesses.

I think he already knows that I don't do the service thing and I don't think he would say anything to me about it. but I just don't know. I would love to be friends with this guy. Hopefully in the future he will leave the organization. I'm nervous about hanging out with him right now b/c I don't want any witness entanglements. but right now I would like some association with something I'm familiar with. I've tried hanging out with so called "worldly" individuals but I'm still a little uncomfortable around them.

• Odrade
    Odrade

hey, why not? just keep developing ties with "never have beens" so if it gets wonky you have something still. And just be patient, the other friendships you are developing take time, but it's worth it.

O

• littletree
    littletree