Family Matters

by Purza 6 Replies latest jw friends

• Purza
    Purza

So I have been inactive technically for about 2.5 years now. Before I became inactive I was literally struggling to get my 1 hour in per month and half the time I studied with my daughter to get that hour in. My daughter at 8 years of age began questioning the organization with things like "why won't they let women give talks to the audience, etc.". I never had a good answer for her since I was just going through the motions. I would just say "because that is the way it is".

Fast forward 6 years later and my daughter is a teenager. We haven't been to meetings in years and she doesn't miss them. I no longer feel guilty about "saving" her by letting her learn the truth.

My family would like to have my daughter visit this summer and I said "how about for three days because she doesn't have any meeting clothes, etc". My mother wants to have her longer, but says that my daughter HAS to go to meetings. I am okay with that as long as my kid WANTS to go. So I ran it past my daughter and she became indignant "why do I HAVE to go -- what if I don't want to". I said "take it up with your grandmother".

So she calls my mother to tell her that she would like to come visit, but doesn't want to be forced to go to the meetings. My mother then begins a 45 minute preaching tirade and I hear my daughter say things like "why is this religion the ONLY right one" "just because you go to meetings doesn't mean you are spiritually dead". And I am in the background (quiety thinking) "you go girl". My daughter has more guts than I do when it comes to standing up to my ever so self-righteous parents. And of course my child was told "the only reason you don't know the truth is because your mother has become separated from it".