Benefit of UN affiliation??

by Bubbamar 7 Replies latest watchtower scandals

• Bubbamar
    Bubbamar

HI - I know I'm a newbie and this question has probably been addressed before - so sorry - but can someone tell me the inside scoop. Of what benefit was it to the WTBTS to register with the UN? I imagine it was of significant value to risk such a huge scandal. But I also guess they knew they could manipulate their way out of it with their little mindless sheep!

• galaxy7
    galaxy7

they joined to get a library card .you cant join the ymca but they can join the un/ngo

i found this article from the watchtower you might find interesting

WT 01/79:

"In joining the YMCA as a member a person accepts or endorses the general objectives and principles of the organization. He is not simply paying for something he receives, such as when buying things being sold to the public at a store. (Compare 1 Corinthians 8:10; 10:25.) Nor is his membership merely an entry pass, as when a person buys a theater ticket. Membership means that one has become an integral part of this organization founded with definite religious objectives, including the promotion of interfaith. Hence, for one of Jehovah?s Witnesses to become a member of such a so-called Christian association would amount to apostasy."
    so has the society commited apostasy?
  • avengers
    avengers

Hi Bubbamar. Welcome.

But I also guess they knew they could manipulate their way out of it with their little mindless sheep!

That's what they thought indeed. But,,,, they didn't think the Internet would expand the way it did. They were
    really caught with their pants down.

so has the society commited apostasy?

Absolutely. The Watchtower calls us here apostates, but they are the ones whom committed apostasy
    But that's the way they are. They always blame their brothers. They've done so in the past and they'll
    keep doing so in the future to keep manipulating the "flock" and ruin families.