What do JWs think of AIDS?

by somebodylovesme 8 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• somebodylovesme
    somebodylovesme

This might sound like a weird question... I know (obviously) JWs despise homosexuality, drug use, blood transfusions, and promiscuity. But those (as much as they might hate to admit it) are not the only ways people get AIDS. I'm far from an expert, but babies can contract it from mothers, a faithful person (married or unmarried) can contract it from a partner who has not been so faithful, a person may not KNOW they have it, and the list goes on. In some parts of the world, people don't know how to protect themselves from it.

Preaching to the choir here, I'm sure. In my mind, NO ONE EVER "deserves" to get AIDS, nor do they "Ask" for it or anything like that. And I think, given the additional ways it can be transmitted, even Witnesses should be able to admit that innocent people (who have not "sinned" according to WT standards) can still get AIDS. So, then, since I honestly have never heard it discussed (I was never a JW)... what do JWs think of AIDS? Do they support AIDS research? Do they actively teach that people with AIDS deserve it?

More to the point, if I wore my AIDS Awareness pin at my JW in-laws house, do you think they would find it offensive? (Note: I will wear it anyway, no matter what they think. But I like to know if I'm offending them or not.)

So, sorry to ramble, but I guess I'm just curious about their compassion level -- if it even registers on the meter.

Love and peace to all,
    SLM

• jgnat
    jgnat