Some thoughts on the "anti-occupation" rally on 3/20/04

by L_A_Big_Dawg 1 Replies latest social current

• L_A_Big_Dawg
    L_A_Big_Dawg

Just some thoughts on the rally.

I attended this rally to see and educate myself. I took the subway to Hollywood to avoid the parking and traffic problems. While on the train, I met some of the protesters. Many had signs that contained vulgar remarks towards President Bush. I asked one of the protesters why she couldn't make her veiws known without such vulgarities. She looked at me blankly and stated that I was a pro-republican, facsict a-hole.

I got out of the station and made my way to Hollywood and Vine. The crush of people was incredible. I made my way through the crowd, and saw many signs, most of which I found amusing. People were pleasant for the most part and well-mannered. My preconception was shattered, as I expected a slogan chanting rabble.

As I watched the parade, I saw how hypocritical the far left truly is. They were all for their right to protest, but when faced be those that were counter-protesting (CP from now on) they began to demand that the CPs be removed. To their credit, the LAPD did not do as they requested.

I saw the protesters calling the CPs fascists and nazis. Giving them the naxi salute as they passed these people.

The parade soon ended and as I walked, on the of the protesters yelled at a CP that the CPs were wrong because there were so few of them and so many more of the protesters. I walked up to that man, and asked him if that meant that might makes right? He looked at me and didn't have a response.

After grabbing a bite to eat, I walked down towards the stage to listen to the rhetoric. It was filled with anti-capitalist, anti-American, pro-Palestinian, pro-Hussein, rants.

It was during this time that I had my discussion with the pro-Palestinian, that I mentioned in a previous post.

That's all I'm going post now, but I'll post more reflections if there is an interest

• LucidSky