If given the choice....

by NEWWORLDSLACKER 2 Replies latest jw friends

• NEWWORLDSLACKER
    NEWWORLDSLACKER

If you were given the choice to either be an expert in one specific area and not pursue anything else....or be able to do quite a few different things pretty well but excel in none what would you choose?

This is a question im trying to come to terms with at the moment. I find joy in a great many activities..... I take care of my family of four meanwhile -Im an artist( mostly painting and sculpting)-Hot rod and custom bike mechanic/machinist- I write music-am a carpenter for hire- computer building(nerd)-at my job im a chemist and systems mechanic- im also a shade tree inventor-If it breaks I can fix it ...and all of my friends and family know that im there for them when they need me. Uhhh....sometimes I think about cutting loose a field of interest to make more time to refine the others. And to make matters worse as I get older im realizing that ignorance is bliss and with knowledge bring responsibility. And once you know something its there forever.....barring brain damage of some sort of course.

the cliff notes to this thread?> I often feel overwhelmed yet I have an insatiable desire for knowledge, to understand things with my own mind and create with my own hands.

well I guess my initial question is at least viable.

NwS

• seattleniceguy
    seattleniceguy

Heya, NewWorldSlacker!

I think I can identify with you. I've always told people that at any one time, I'm playing with three more interests than it is possible to juggle. I kind of like that - I like having twelve different books on my desk with bookmarks indicating various stages of progress - but at the same time, I sometimes feel like I would do far better to choose a couple to focus on more intently.