My live as video gamer and JW

by ironsnake656 5 Replies latest jw experiences

• ironsnake656
    ironsnake656

One of my strangest things that happened to me during my life as JW was that I loved (and still I do) video games. I started playing Super Mario Bros in a Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) from my cousin and from there I developed an attachment to the video games. I remember that I asked for a gift the NES to my dad and my wish come true! I played like 5 or 6 hours a day and always my mom and dad told me that it was an addiction, even my school performance was almost perfect (I was an A+ student), and I did not neglect my home and JW responsibilities. During the meetings I fantasized how to beat a boss or pass through a difficult stage. Some of the games my parents purchased me or got as gifts where not "authorized" or "no-no" according with the JWland doctrine, since they had references about magic, demons, war, violence, killings, religions, omens/spells, vampires, etc: Iron Sword: Wizards & Warriors II, Dragon Warrior, Cabal, Metal Gear, Contra and Super C, Defender of the Crown, Kirby's Adventure, Castlevania, and Pounch-Out. My parents did not noticed what kind of games I played.

Then, I started to go to the arcade sites where I played games like Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat. In those places, some JW children/teens where the most frequent customers and experienced gamers. I remember that MK games were the "no-no" in the media and among the local JW's. There were frequent talks about the dangers of video games, despite the elder's sons were the most addicted and pro gamers. Then, I purchased the SNES, the N64, the PlayStation 1 and 2, Xbox 360, and Xbox One. My wife is a pro gamer in the Ms. Pac-Man, and I got excited when I discovered that she like video games like me!!