Religion Project

by Darren Doody 8 Replies latest jw friends

• Darren Doody
    Darren Doody

I've recently taken a particular interest in the Jehovah's Witness belief, and as a result, have decided to do a project on this belief as part of my college study. I am a student teacher in Ireland, so, I am undertaking this project from an educational perspective; I want to see how Jehovah's witnesses are catered for in religious education in schools, and if there are any ways one could improve it. I would appreciate if anyone could give their opinion on this topic. I am focussing particularly on how they are represented in the Irish Education system, but replies from any region would be so greatly appreciated

• Anony Mous
    Anony Mous

Hi Darren,

I'm not from Ireland but from a nearby region that has a similar model when it comes to religious education. The best thing to do for all children in my opinion is to provide them with a balanced view of all religions, draw the parallels between modern Christian, Hindu, Muslims and the older versions of their own or other ancient religions such as the Greeks and Egyptians (eg. the resurrection of a savior born by a virgin).

I am still an ordained minister (ministerial servant) of the Jehovah's Witness group although I have not participated in my local congregation for quite some years. Even though some of the Jehovah's Witness faith will thus reject my testimony as false, the leaders of my group have never officially revoked my status or rebuked my statements. You will receive a similar answer to what's below from the 'officials' in charge in your area although it will be worded in a way to embellish some of the harsher facts.