Do you meditate?

by nicolaou 6 Replies latest jw experiences

• nicolaou
    nicolaou

I don't have any particular method or system but I'm often happy in my own company. I value periods of solitude when I can just drift off and follow my own thoughts.

Maybe it's not much more than daydreaming but a glass of scotch and some tunes can sometimes light up a memory or bring a hazy idea into focus.

Peace and quiet are my luxuries, what about you guys?

• LisaRose
    LisaRose

I practice meditation, I find it very helpful in reducing stress and helping with my ADHD.

I also like a glass or two of wine on the weekend.

• Adiva
    Adiva

I practice mediation and mindfulness. In fact I'm headed to my yoga class and we always do a meditation and receive Reiki afterwards.

Adiva

• Gulf Coaster
    Gulf Coaster

I've always valued periods of solitude and quiet. I need that on a regular basis. It's very therapeutic and invigorating.

I started practicing Mindfulness Meditation a few years ago when I experienced a lot of stress due to health problems. It helped immensely and I continue to practice it. I highly recommend it.

• LoveUniHateExams
    LoveUniHateExams

I'm a bit like you, Nic, in that I don't practice formal meditation or follow an established method.

Every once in a while, I just buy a can of cider and sit alone on my favourite bench in my local park. I've seen a kestrel hovering, scanning for prey, a buzzard soar overhead and several herons (or the same individual several times,hunting and flying).

It's so peaceful, picturesque and green. I think it's therapeutic.

• Phizzy
    Phizzy

I like to sit outside as the sun goes down, with a glass of (preferably) brandy, and a Cigar. I drink and smoke and think, and enjoy the quiet and beauty of nature. When the sun has gone, the bats and nightbirds (some of them feathered !) come out, and the stars are out in all their glory.

I let my mind drift down peaceful paths.

It does me good, apart from the Cigar.