Anaphalactic shock....was the therapy ever condemned by WTBTS

by shotgun 9 Replies latest watchtower medical

• shotgun
    shotgun

I need to know this ASAP...please let me know if the epinephrine treatment or injection would have at any time been condemned.

Thanks

• blondie
    blondie

Not that I am aware of. I have been using it for over 30 years. What is the reason you have been given for not using it? As far as I know it is not made out of blood like a tetanus shot, but even that is allowable for JWs for some time. It comes from the adrenall glands (adrenalin) which as far as I know has nothing to do with blood. There was a time before the 50's where health treatment was pretty bizarre in the pages of the WT publications, especially the Consolation and Golden Age.

Blondie

• Scully
    Scully

I have never heard of the WTS not allowing the medical use of epinephrine (adrenalin).

Having said that, it wouldn't surprise me in the least that a JW could come to the conclusion that epinephrine, being an endogenous (produced by the body) hormone produced by the adrenal glands, comes from blood. However, epinephrine that is used in the medical setting is synthetic, so there is no reason why it could not be administered to a JW in a life-threatening situation.

If they use "derived from blood" argument with epinephrine, they would also have to apply it to insulin, oxytocin, atropine and a host of other commonly used synthetic hormones.

Love, Scully

• blondie
    blondie