Bethel layoffs of oldies

by I am a Bible Student 46 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• I am a Bible Student
    I am a Bible Student

Is this true? Has anyone heard of it? Saw it on my facebook.

"JAN. 6 BETHEL UPDATE 108 ELDERLY BETHELITES GETTING THE BOOT.

Brooklyn, NY. A Bethel insider reports a closed meeting was held at the World Headquarters of Jehovah's Witnesses last night and announced the releasing of 108 elderly Bethelites. Many of these longtime, full-time volunteer workers who committed their lives to"Jehovah's Organization" may be facing homelessness. Most of these Older Jehovah's Witnesses are of the "Anointed Class".
    It was suggested in this meeting that the elderly Witnesses may be able to get help and support from the congregations in their hometowns. Many of the older ones were never on Social Security and are being encouraged to apply for Social Security Disability."

• dropoffyourkeylee
    dropoffyourkeylee
    I doubt it
  • Listener
    Listener

I don't know if it is true or not.

If there was a closed meeting and then an announcement that 108 elderly Bethelites were released why would they do that? Surely they would tell those affected first otherwise ever older Bethelite would be anxious. How would they even define who was elderly and why would they single them out in a special announcement?

If most of these elderly are of the anointed class then they would most likely be from the pre 1935 era when all baptized ones were considered anointed. That would make them over 90 years old. Unless, of course, the feeling you are anointed is one of the inflictions that befalls Bethelites. There would be plenty of Bethelites in the 65 to 90 year age range, why wouldn't they have been included in this announcement?