Freedom in Christ

by amac 5 Replies latest jw friends

• amac
    amac

What does freedom in Christ mean?

• zanex
    zanex

wll that depends on who you are asking frist of all. That question would have meaning to some and scorn from others. If you were asking an elder he would probably tell you that when we "give ourselves to christ" it gives us a sense of freedom, peace or tranquility. That "freedom" is something that they believe comes from that imperfect, deranged body of bethelites that call themselves "anointed". i have other views on it. I do not believe that freedom comes from christ and it isnt something that anyone or anything can give you. It is something that is self-taught. It was this way for every type of slave or bound servant over the many years of human existance. Those slaves grew tired of being subservient to anyone. The patriots rebel against a status quo. Freedom, true freedom comes from within. So not sure if i answered yer question or not...so the answer i guess would be that the phrase "freedom in christ" doesnt mean much if anything...it depends on who is answering that...

• Dogpatch
    Dogpatch

I have a "sermon" on that subject on Real Audio at:

http://www.exjws.net/message/listings.htm

Also an interesting read at:

http://www.freeminds.org/doctrine/rules.htm

Randy

Net Soup!

http://www.freeminds.org

• DJ
    DJ

Thanks for the links Randy!! I haven't had a chance to read them but I will make a point of it.

Amac,