Hey....who took all my GUILT???

by Dawn 7 Replies latest jw friends

• Dawn
    Dawn

For years I lived under the weight of guilt. I suppose some of it is a consequence of childhood abuses - and much of it developed over a lifetime of trying to be good enough to make it through Armageddon. I never could reach "the mark" - oh I studied a lot, went to all the meetings, aux. pioneered whenever I could, and even gave "experiences" at assemblies. But somehow - I always screwed up. And my conscience would bother me - and I'd tattle on myself ....and ya'll know the rest. Just the thought of "the back room" sent a chill into my life.

The thing is - I carried this D*** thing ALL the time - regardless of how I was living my life. Even after I was married, I have always been faithful to my husband, I've been a good mom, and I work hard - but I constantly felt unworthy and guilty.

At church they have "alter calls" - where you can step forward and ask for help with something. I've always been too chicken &hit to admit anything in public (god forbid..maybe they have a back room too ) but one day I went up and asked that this weight of guilt disappear. It wasn't attached to anything I needed to confess or fix - it was just there all the time. Of course.....I was disappointed to bring it home with me again that day.

Some time passed...and a situation came about where the guilt thing came up again. In my conversation to someone I said "well...I'd better do (blah blah blah) I don't want to live with guilt again" and it hit me....THE GUILT...WHERE'D IT GO?! At some point this "dead-weight-guilt" I had been carrying for 20+ years was GONE. No wonder I had felt so good lately. I had lived with it for so long - yet it disappeared and I didn't notice - how could that be?