1975 - JWs in other countries, not just the U.S. also knew about the prediction

by deegee 9 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• deegee
    deegee

I have been wondering, if the 1975 prediction was just a rumour started by the rank & file as the WT claims, then how did JWs in other countries, a part from the U.S., also come to know about the prediction?

I started studying with the JWs during the 80s when I was a child. While attending one of my first meetings during that time, a brother commented during the WT study that Armageddon did not come in 1975 because it was not known how many years after Adam, Eve was created.

At the time, I hadn't a clue what the guy was talking about. But this took place in Jamaica and in retrospect, it certainly makes me wonder - how did the JWs in Jamaica come up with such an idea?

• slimboyfat
    slimboyfat

In some countries it was a much bigger than in the US, like the Philippines, and other countries it wasn't a bit deal at all, like Italy. I've got the graphs that show this.

• btlc
    btlc

Because 1975. was announced in "The Watchtower" magazines in all languages available in that time, that was the official teaching, not just a rumor.

• UnshackleTheChains
    UnshackleTheChains

Here in the UK, I remember an elderly sister mentioning 1975. She said she wondered why the Society would have said that at the time, as people sold up their homes. She and her husband sold their home and began pioneering back then.

• alanv
    alanv

I am from the UK, and my teenage friends and myself took what they said very seriously. We gave up our careers and regular pioneered. We had no doubt that what we were being told was the truth.

• snugglebunny
    snugglebunny