Is there life after JW?

by chrisauld 2 Replies latest jw friends

• chrisauld
    chrisauld

Hi everyone, I'm new to this whole internet thing, I always thought that the Internet was 'wrong', I guess. I was just wandering if anyone else was finding it hard to get on in life after deciding that JW's are not the 'truth'. Does anyone else feel the struggle to find a substitute? I was brought up in it since birth, I stopped going to meetings about 4 years ago, but decided it was the 'false' about 2 years ago. My dad is still firmly 'brainwashed' but my mum left ages ago. I feel bitter about the whole guilt thing and the social separation I endured as a child. I suppose this is common among ex-JW's. I think it is physcologically recognized as 'cognitive dissonance'- the battle between what u now believe to be 'right' as opposed to what you were TOLD was 'right'. Anyone feel the same??
    Let me know.
    Chris (glad to have freedom of thought)

Mansword

• Jimmer
    Jimmer

Yes, there is life after the WTBTS. The whole concept of "trying to find a substitute" is an especially important one to grab hold of. it is not unusual for a person who has been wholly dependent on someone or something else to feel seperation anxiety. (Kinda like quitting smoking.) A person is not used to being independent. He or she is frantically trying to find someone or soething else to attach to. However, if one can realize this and supplement that knowledge with a close friend or two to unload on when needed, he or she will become free of the need to "find a substitute." The journey might be painful at first, but the destination is terrific!
    Good luck and stay between the ditches.

• Thirdson
    Thirdson

Hi Chris,