I have a legal question

by Tammie 2 Replies latest social family

• Tammie
    Tammie

I am working on a legal paper for guardianship for my children. In the event that something happens to me and my husband I don't want any of our JW relatives to get their grubby hands on them. Any way on this paper it ask a question. The qestion is:
    direct that the guardian of the person of our children serve (with or without) bond.

Now for any one who knows what is this bond that they are asking?

• blondie
    blondie

I'm no lawyer and this is no substitute for talking to one about the advisability of bonding but this is my Google research. This may differ by state:

Should your Executor be bonded?

Unless your Will allows the Executor to serve without bond , the court will usually require a bond. The estate pays for the bond. The cost of the bond depends upon the value of the estate, and may range between $200 in a smaller estate to $500 in a larger estate. If you highly trust your Executor, or the Executor is also the main or only beneficiary, you may consider not requiring a bond.

Bonding of the Executor: