Education=Looser Ignorance=Winner

by WhyNow2000 2 Replies latest jw friends

• WhyNow2000
    WhyNow2000

I attended college during late 80's and early 90's when University was a taboo, bad karma, unchristian, bad example...how could you do that. I endured myriads of “encouragements” to lure me away from “materialism.” When I moved to another congregation, I learned to downplay my full fledged student status and in silence I finished my school.
    How many of you went to Universities when you were an active JW? How did you handle the harassment? If you decided to return to school after your left (inactivated yourself) JW, did having been a JW has any influence in deciding the major to go into?

I f this topic has been discussed before, forgive me......after all I am a newbie.

• tergiversator
    tergiversator

Welcome to the board, WhyNow.

I must say, I have a lot of respect for people like you who went to school while being active witnesses, both for your courage and for simply keeping up with your schoolwork with the amount of time that meetings et al. took up.

As for myself, I can't really say much about being a Witness college student, since I decided to leave the organization in November of my freshman year... but I did have to deal with other people during high school, when it became clear that I was going to go to college. It helps that my school's name sounds like it's "only" a technical school, and I played up the "need to get job training" idea, which seemed to work okay.

Of course, when I left my mom chocked it up to me being "distracted" with "higher learning". And suddenly I wasn't nearly as bright as I had been, back when I was in high school and still a model witness. It was just too much to expect her to understand that going away to college didn't make me leave the "truth", the organization made me leave the "truth", but oh well. Gives her something to blame, at least, besides me.