Who aren't the hard nuts?

by Nathan 8 Replies latest watchtower beliefs

• Nathan
    Nathan

Most people I know basically believe that JWs are unconvertible from their faith. This, I believe, comes from their dissappointments and frustrations at being able to convince JWs to convert, or even just to leave.

I work in the counselling field and we have a similar problem with 'difficult' clients who also don't seem to respond to anything. These clients also lead counsellors to become cynical as to these clients character, their ability, their 'true' motivation, or whatever meaning they can attach to the non-responding part. (Actually I think the JWs also talk about those who are resistant to the Truth). In counselling, when the counsellor looses hope and belief that the person can change is a high predictor that they will not be able to help this person any further. Cynicism lends itself to despair. Where there is hope, there is possibility.

A modern philosophy in counselling is to stop focussing on the non-change parts and focus on the parts that do change and ask "What works that seem to help these people that do change?" - and do more of it. What is it that works in successful therapy? When this is answered, the advice is "do more of it."

I know from the ex-JWs out there that there are many who have actually left the WT. Some of these people would have been labelled "hard nuts to crack" and "impossible" by those who at one time tried to persuade them but without success. Yet, they are out now.