Questions for Amazing and real estate agents?

by Leander 6 Replies latest jw friends

• Leander
    Leander

I think I've reached the end of my candle with full time corporate jobs. Sitting in one spot for 8-10 hours is getting harder and harder for me. I've been kind of kicking the idea around of becoming a real estate agent. I love real estate but I've never worked in sales before and I have no idea of what to expect as far as pay goes in the real estate broker/agent world. One advantage I do have is that I know the city (Chicago) and the surrounding suburbs fairly well and I have no problems with going from the best neighborhood to the worst to show a property. I have a few questions that maybe someone could answer for me:

Do real estate agents work strictly on commission or do they have salaries as well?

How much of a percentage (if any) do agents make from the sale of a property?

Do agents have any restrictions on buying properties that they are personally interested in?

Whats the process for becoming a licensed agent?

What advice would you give someone who's looking to get into that field?

• rekless
    rekless

Do real estate agents work strictly on commission or do they have salaries as well? some agents will give you a salary during your training period then it is stricly commission.

How much of a percentage (if any) do agents make from the sale of a property? between 3&6%split with the real estate broker or person who owns the company.

Do agents have any restrictions on buying properties that they are personally interested in? No, just as long as you have the finances and not cut any of your prospects offers. You can not bid against any client. This is an ethics issue.