Writing YA book about JWs...

by UFCFan 5 Replies latest jw friends

• UFCFan
    UFCFan

So I'm a amateur writer, though I lost my muse for the last story I was working on. But I had a good idea for a new young adult book that won't just be fun to read, it will help people learn TTATT. It would be about six or eight teenagers with JW parents, but they all lead double lives at school and away from the congregation.

I don't have many plot ideas yet though, so I'm trying to find someone to co write this with. Mainly one person could do the storyline and I could do the writing, or we could come up with the story together.

Post here or PM me if interested.

• UFCFan
    UFCFan

I started writing this under the working title of Our Secret Lives. Here's the prologue.

Logan Westenkamp used to just be a ordinary teenager. He was fifteen, nearly sixteen, lived in Long Beach, California, and used to never get in trouble. Emphasis on used to, but more on that later. But as he grew older and started thinking for himself more, not accepting everything he was told, he wanted more freedom. And that's when the problems started.

Abigail "Abi" Brand had a common bond with Logan. They were both German-American, and both had parents who were Jehovah's Witnesses. And they both hated that. Abi's German accent was strong, like Logan's, and it made the two stand out in school, and sometimes it made the cool kids pick on them. But what really got the two teens bullied was the religion. Both Abi and Logan didn't want to be part of the Witnesses. But you couldn't leave the religion until you were eighteen, and both would be stuck for a bit longer until they were old enough. Why didn't they like it? Well, that will be explained later.