Are you studying with the JW's? No I'm studying with Christains.

by Gojira_101 9 Replies latest jw friends

• Gojira_101
    Gojira_101

This morning my husband was txt'ing a classmate of his because they have to meet up for a class project. My husband txt'd the classmate last night and he didn't reply until this morning.

Classmate (CM): Sorry bro, I was at a bible study last night, I go every Thursday.

My husband and I look at each other, a bible study on a Thursday? Oh crap this guy much be either studying with the JW's or he was at a meeting last night.

Hubby's txt back: Oh cool dude...who are you studying with?

CM: My step dad and I study with a couple of guys from church.

So now we both have that knot in our stomach, doesn't that sound familiar?

Hubby: Nice, are you studying with Jehovah's Witnesses?

CM: No, I'm studying with Christan's.

My husband and I burst out laughing, no not the JW's, Christan's! I laughed so hard because of the irony, JW's believe they are "true Christan's" but yet the so-called "worldly" people don't think that at all.

Peace

G

• sir82
    sir82

I wonder how many "worldly" people find the Watchtower's constant use of "true Christians" to be condescending, demeaning, and just plain rude?

• Christ Alone
    Christ Alone

I think that is why in the 70's they began to use the term "Jehovah's Christian Witnesses". They dropped it after a while. The debate of whether JWs are Christians or not rages on. I think JWs distance themselves from everyone else so much that there has to be a distinction between Christiand and JW. For example, all the Christians I know who are in specific denominations believe that all other Christians will be saved, whether they are in their denomination or not. Jws do not believe that. They do not believe that every Christian will be saved. You have to come to "Mama" to be saved. Don't know why, but just thought of this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vimZj8HW0Kg

• PSacramento
    PSacramento